WI Assembly Republicans Violate Article IV Section 10 of the WI Consitution and Illegally Pass AB426

February 11, 2012 by Barbara With

On January 26, 2012, Wisconsin Assembly Speaker Pro Tem Rep. Bill Kramer (R-ALEC) ordered all observers removed from the gallery and behind locked doors conducted the passage of AB426, the ALEC-GTAC-authored ferrous mining bill. Despite a majority of opposition at both public hearings, stripping away all protections from air, water and people, removing contested case hearings, violating the Great Lakes Compact and Federal Treaty Rights, and putting the Bad River Indians at risk of genocide (among many other despicable aspects of the bill), the Republican fascists once again colluded to use their majority to do the bidding of their corporate sponsors: Cline Mines, GTAC, ALEC, Caterpiller, to name a few. At the same time, they violated Article IV, Section 10 of the Wisconsin Constitution that requires the doors of the legislator to remain open.

AB426 was passed illegally and should be considered null and void.


Tags: , , ,


  1. Top Republican Legislator Abandons Walker, Calls Him ‘Whack Job’ | Recall Scott Walker NOW! - April 25, 2012

    […] lock-step to introduce a new mining bill. He also voted against the G-Tac-authored bill that was illegally passed in the Assembly after the public was removed and the doors to the gallery were locked in violation of Article IV, […]

  2. Republican Mining Bill Ignores the Truth of Wisconsin’s Mining History | Wisconsin Citizens Media Cooperative - January 19, 2013

    […] over again” because it seems to be nearly identical to AB426, the flawed mining bill that was illegally passed the Assembly last year but failed to make it out of the Senate. Sen. Jauch (D-Poplar), who represents much of […]

  3. Wisconsin Mining Bill SB1/AB1: A Review of AB426 | Wisconsin Citizens Media Cooperative - January 22, 2013

    […] 26, 2012 Assembly public galleries are emptied, closed and locked as AB426 is passed under violation of the Wisconsin Constitution. All Republicans now claim to be authors of […]

%d bloggers like this: